BROWSE BY BRAND

BROWSE BY TYPE

LATEST USER REVIEWS

RELATED SITES

Allen XR44 Specification

Xr44
  • Average Rating: 1.5 stars
  • Manufacturer: Allen
  • Model: XR44
  • Suitable For: 15ft - 30ft Lawns
  • Type: Petrol
  • Design: Hover
  • Weight: 13kg
  • Grassbox Capacity: 0litres
  • Cut Width: 40cm
  • Power: 2.5hp
  • Self Propelled: No
  • Best Price: £ N/A
Xr44 image 1 Xr44 image 2 Xr44 image 3 Xr44 image 4

Where Can I Buy The XR44?

Click one of the buying options below to be re-directed:

£ N/A

Not Stocked

£ N/A

Not Stocked

£ N/A

Not Stocked

£ N/A

Not Stocked

£ N/A

Not Stocked

£ N/A

Not Stocked

£ N/A

Not Stocked

Stock data last updated: 20:17 on Saturday 23rd September 2017

Allen XR44 Description

The smallest hover mower from Allen, the XR44 includes an efficient Honda GXV57 2.5hp petrol engine, and 40cm cutting width, making it suitable for medium sized lawns where inclines exist, and grass collection is not required.

The Allen XR44 features a Flexiblade, which is a safe, durable, nylon cutting mechanism, keeping the overall weight down, and delivering performance close to that of a metal blade. The Flexiblade is also safe and easy to change, for maintainence.

The Honda engine is connected to a lower impellor which draws in air through the top of the mower deck and forces it along the surface of the underside of the deck moving it in a circular motion. This allows the machine to hover just above the ground and also sucks the grass into an upright position to ensure a clean and even cut. In addition the circulating air stream allows each grass cutting to be re-cut many times before the air stream forces them back into the turf.

Robustness has been considered in the design of the Allen XR44, a strong ABS deck provides a lifetime of durability.

In addition, the Allen XR44 is extremely manoeuvrable due to its light weight and hovering capability. The XR44 is able to mow up inclines of 20 degrees.

Petrol Hover Comparison Chart

ModelWeight (kg)Capacity (ltr)Width (cm)Power (hp/w/v)Cost (£)
Hovertrim17.60464.5hp N/A
Professional190515.5hp N/A
XL500150505.5hp N/A
XR44130402.5hp N/A

Allen XR44 User Reviews

17 April 2013

3 stars

brought the mower 3 years ago due to my other metal bladed mowers firing stones and breaking my neighbours car and house widows. The mower has had heavy use cutting steep banks ect have modified the cutter holes and drilled them slightly larger so can fit the thickest grey cutting cord and found by doing this you dont have to go and re cut the the grass on each pass. The cutting deck has started to come loose from the engine so i have superglued the bolts in. The only other annoying thing is that you cannot hang the mower up on shed or garage wall or turn it over to clean it without it billowing smoke out on the next start up. The only good thing is you can hit small pea shingle stones that are in the grass and it doesent fire them out from under the mower, since using this mower i havent damaged any windows or had to pick shrapnell from my shins.

By Dan

25 June 2011

1 stars

It does cut grass, just. I mis-guidedly bought one as I was advised it is the only small mower to work on steep banks as other mower engines do not pump oil but are splash fed. Mine vibrated uncomfortably from the start. After a few months the front trim fell off. Now the engine has fallen off the skirt. It still vibrates after it's second return to the mower centre. It hasn't had any rough treatment and only very light use. I hate using it so I still push my 30 year old Mountfield up and down which it was meant to replace.

By Phil Pegg

7 May 2011

2 stars

BOUGHT XR44 JUNE 2010 BECAUSE IT SUITED MY NEEDS,LIGHT,GOOD STARTER AND A GOOD MANUFACTURERS NAME WITH THE HONDA ENGINE.BY THE END OF THE SEASON I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AS ONE OF THE OTHER GUYS,MOUNTING BOLTS CONNECTING ENGINE TO DECK HAD WORKED THEIR WAY LOOSE RESULTING IN VIBRATION.JULIAN AT BRIGGS AND SONS LAWNMOWER REPAIR ENGINEERS SORTED THAT OUT BY REPLACING BOLTS AND SECURING WITH LOCK NUTS.APRIL 2011 SAW ANOTHER PROBLEM SURFACE.WHEN TURNING THE DECK ON ITS END AT 90 DEGREES TO ALTER THE CUTTING HEIGHT USING THE HANDLEBAR AS SPECIFIED BY HAYTER,WHICH I HAD DONE MANY TIMES,THE LUG FOR THE FOOTSTOP WHICH IS PART OF THE PLASTIC DECK SHEARED OFF LEAVING A 30MM HOLE.IN PROCESS OF CONTACTING HAYTER-ALLEN AT THE MOMENT,WILL ADD TO STORY AT A LATER DATE

By NEIL DUXBURY

28 September 2010

1 stars

Worst mower I.ve ever had.engine mounting useless keeps wanting to part company with the "tupperware"body spends more time being put back together than cutting grass and its just happened again wrecking the plastic engine plate and shearing one bolt.More expence

By G.brown

16 April 2010

1 stars

XR44 is complete and utter c..p. This mower i have been using lost front cowel on day one left trails of grass clippings and now has been making strange buzzing noise, on investigation it has lost 2 screws/bolts holding the engine to the abs deck. Thank god for the other 2. With very little help from hayter i am now at peace, the mower is in its rightful place in the scrap metal recycling bay at smallmead tip, please do not return as an XR44. please do not waste your money, you get a lot more bother with this hover.

By Steve Lynch

16 August 2009

2 stars

16th August 2009
I agree with all that Harling has written I also own a Allen 446 and although a lot heavier it is chalk and cheese to the 44, the cut height on the 44 is no way low enough. I have heard you can get a metal blade for the 44 does anybody know about this. I am not impressed so far with my 44 I bought it for lightness as the 446 is very heavy, but I am afraid this is its only advantage. I will be discussing these thoughts with Hayter and will be interested to hear their response.

By Colin Shepherd

16 June 2009

2 stars

My Hayter Allen XR44 Petrol Hovertrim has been a very disappointing purchase, having owned Flymo petrol hover mowers for over 30 years I decided this time I would try a different maker as in my experience Flymo have always been dodgy starters with their 2 stroke engines, Hayter have been around for many years so maybe time to give the XR44 a go.

My first impression before using the machine looked very good with the renowned Honda 4 stroke engine and the nylon cutter blades. After using the XR44 for a couple of months with good engine starting compared to the Flymo L400 I found the usage of the XR44 to be very poor with long tufts of grass missed by the cutting action resulting in having to perform a second cut to eliminate them.

The cutting height position lets the XR44 down, the nylon cutting blades are looped in place through one of a set of three predetermined pairs of holes in the fan plate that sets the height of the cut required. The lowest setting is nowhere near low enough compared to Flymo's metal blade and a different arrangement for this task. I have noticed that Hayter Allen offer an optional extra that increases the machines cutting height, we are going the wrong way here Hayter Allen unless the XR44 was designed for cutting an overgrown meadow!

I still own my old Flymo L400 and after a lawn cut with this machine it takes over ten days growth before a cut with the XR44 makes a contact with the grass, consequently the lawns need to be cut twice as often with the XR44 compared to the Flymo.

Now the Honda 4 stroke engine is a very good starter, this maybe due to a choke system compared to the Flymo?s poor primer system. The Honda engine does have it's faults, the fuel tank capacitance is far to small and this problem is enhanced because you must keep the fuel level well below the tanks neck to avoid fuel spillage through the fuel cap breather screw.

On a plus point the XR44 skirted body has a 'Hand-Hole' for carrying, however when you lift the XR44 from one lawn to another the fuel tap must be turned off and the breather cap screwed hard down to avoid fuel spilling everywhere, this never happens with the Flymo's.

Finally, the XR44's safety stop bar spring is far to strong, a tight grip is required with the handlebar throughout the time the engine is running, very uncomfortable, surely this is not necessary.

My conclusions are that 'My time for a change' to the XR44 was a bad move. I may appear to be a 'Flymo Fan' but this is not the case as the Flymo's can be horrific for engine starting however if I had known what I know now about the Hayter Allen XR44 Hovertrim I would have stayed with Flymo, bad engine starting and all.

By Harling

Submit your own review by filling in the form below:

Name:

Rating:

Review:

Are you human? enter the characters :

  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Google
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • TwitThis

Skip to top