BROWSE BY BRAND

BROWSE BY TYPE

LATEST USER REVIEWS

RELATED SITES

Flymo QUICKSILVER 46SD Specification

Quicksilver 46sd
  • Average Rating: 2 stars
  • Manufacturer: Flymo
  • Model: Quicksilver 46SD
  • Suitable For: > 30ft Lawns
  • Type: Petrol
  • Design: Rotary
  • Weight: 27.7kg
  • Grassbox Capacity: 50litres
  • Cut Width: 46cm
  • Power: 4hp
  • Self Propelled: Yes
  • Best Price: £ N/A
Quicksilver 46sd image 1 Quicksilver 46sd image 2 Quicksilver 46sd image 3 Quicksilver 46sd image 4

Where Can I Buy The QUICKSILVER 46SD?

Click one of the buying options below to be re-directed:

£ N/A

Out of Stock

£ N/A

Not Stocked

£ N/A

Not Stocked

£ N/A

Not Stocked

£ N/A

Not Stocked

£ N/A

Not Stocked

£ N/A

Not Stocked

Stock data last updated: 20:42 on Wednesday 13th December 2017

Flymo QUICKSILVER 46SD Description

The Flymo Quicksilver 46SD is a self-propelled lawnmower, an added feature from its smaller 46S version. The rear drive system means operating the lawnmower requires less physical effort, but arguably requires more skill to manoeuvre. This makes the Quicksilver 46SD more suitable for large lawns.

A powerful 4hp Briggs & Stratton petrol engine delivers 2900 watts at maximum RPM, allowing the Quicksilver 46SD to easily handle the thickest of grass. Cordless usage is obviously a further advantage of the petrol engine, giving the operator the freedom to roam without getting tangled up in electrical cable.

The Flymo Quicksilver 46SD is also easy to store, the folding handles save space around your garden shed. In addition, the handles have a soft grip material improving the comfort of the operator.

Whether you require a short cut, or want to leave some length on your lawn, the Flymo Quicksilver 46SD should deliver, featuring an adjustable cutting height of 2.5cm to 7cm, available in 5 steps.

The large 50 litre grass box featured on the Quicksilver 46SD saves time by reducing emptying trips. In addition, as with all Flymo models, practicality has been considered throughout the design, making it easy to detach, empty and refit in seconds.

Ball bearings are fitted in the wheels which reduce friction when pushing, to help make your mowing experience smoother and easier.

Petrol Rotary Comparison Chart

ModelWeight (kg)Capacity (ltr)Width (cm)Power (hp/w/v)Cost (£)
Admiral 162543405hp N/A
Admiral 16S2743405hp N/A
Admiral 16SE3043405hp N/A
Harrier 4133.453415hp N/A
Harrier 4846.570485hp799.00
Harrier 5649.570565.5hp1,099.00
Hayterette330464.5hp599.00
LC4002040403.5hp N/A
LC400PD2240403.5hp N/A
Motif 413150413.5hp N/A
Motif 4831.859483.5hp N/A
Motif 533659536hp N/A
Quicksilver 40S2550403.5hp N/A
Quicksilver 46S2550463.5hp N/A
Quicksilver 46SD27.750464hp N/A
Quicksilver 46SDR2850464hp N/A
Quicksilver 5145HW4160514.5hp N/A
Quicksilver 5160HW4360516hp N/A
Ranger 4133.553415hp N/A
Ranger 4834.558485hp N/A
Ranger 533660535hp N/A
Viscount 193360485hp N/A
Viscount 19SE3660485hp N/A

Flymo QUICKSILVER 46SD User Reviews

21 August 2012

1 stars

Ignore the claims of "right tool for the job". This is an 18" rotary mower - push mowers don't come much bigger and it's certainly not intended for "small areas". I was sold this on the clear understanding that I had a 1/4 acre and using my existing 14" Mountfield took too long. This machine should be capable of doing a fair sized lawn and it did - for the first 3 months or so. The problem with this mower is that it's badly designed. There is no front axle and the front wheels are mounted on plates that rotate to change the cutting height. After a few months use the wheels simply splayed apart and collapsed to the lowest cut which, on a mildly undulating lawn like mine, made it unusable. I persevered for a second season but finally gave up when the engine started to suffer from cutting divots in the lawn. I've now got a more robust machine - a Bosch electric Rotak. The good news for anyone reading this review is that a quick search of the Flymo website shows that they have dropped this model - clear evidence to me that they acknowledge the fact is was a bad design.

By Alex Davies

14 May 2012

1 stars

I can only agree with all of the bad points about this mower, especially problems with wheels misalignment.
Can't fault the Briggs & Stratton engine though!

By George Simpson

14 October 2011

1 stars

Very poor lawnmower deteriorates very quickly self drive isn't very good, wheels tend to require rebolting and cutting height tends to shift all the time and requires reset. You spend more time maintaining this mower than mowing your lawn. Don't be fooled by its cheaper price pay for a better mower. Avoid at all costs.

By Maz Omar

24 April 2011

4 stars

A PS to my review. I cannot believe that people are talking about using this size of mower for lawns approaching 1/2 acre. Its a homecare/ small area mower. Right tool right job I find works best.
"I was given the wrong ladder for the job"....

By Steve W

24 April 2011

4 stars

I bought this mower in 2006, as a slave mower for awkward slopes/banks,or small gardens, in my gardening business.It is still functioning fine, and has been no trouble at all.
Slopes and angled work no problems, drives OK. Would dig in, but variable front height can avoid this.
Starts first pull after priming.My wife who assists sometimes also finds it light and manoeverable, and easy to pull start. I do service my mowers regularly though.
Not a Rolls Royce, but at the price a very good workaday mower. Mine has cut a lot of grass and earned a lot of money in 5 years hard work.

By Steve W

23 April 2011

1 stars

Selfdrive is terrible. The mower can't be pulled back easily and if you do the wheels will probably snap off. I do not recommend this mower and wish I had purchased a pushalong model. My last mower lasted 25 years, this won't last 3/4.

By James

23 April 2011

1 stars

Selfdrive is terrible. The wheels are ready to fall off. Could have got a lot better for the money

By James

21 April 2011

1 stars

bosch rotak 40 The mower is only two years old,and now will not function,the electric motor is jammed,even with maintenance and some mechanical/electrical knowedge havent been able to get it working,even though i stripped it down.looks like its destined for the tip! buyer beware

By Ian Paskin

22 September 2010

1 stars

I bought this mower just over 2 years ago. I have never been impressed with it in terms of the quality of cut and the difficulty in changing the height settings which, as mentioned by a previous reviewer are prone to jump out of the setting holes at the slightest jolt. The rear axle has just broken and I took it into a reputable repairer to fix. He tells me that the rear wheels are fixed onto metal plates which are very soft and the whole design is appalling. Including parts the cost to repair will be over £100 !!. He is not interested in part exchange on another mower. "I wouldnt sell this to any of my customers". I am going to buy a Masport 300 and throw the Flymo on the tip!

By Harold Gray

11 July 2010

4 stars

Pretty good, nice range of heights, easily adjustable. I find it pretty easy to manoevre and handle. I can only think people have problems if they are old or weak - I wouldn't recommend it for the mother-in-law (although the wife has managed OK on those rare occasions) - it's not expensive, has lasted a few years with no damage or mechanical problems and manages a large lawn (half acre) without problems.

By Barney Rogers

16 June 2010

1 stars

This is about the worst mowing machine I have owned in 30 years of gardening. The cutting height adjustment is a joke with little or no positive locking of the height so that the slightest knock to either of the front wheels moves the lever out of its position and the machine starts to dig into the ground. The one way 'clutch' on the back wheels means that you cannot pull the machine back when you get up against a bush/wall. A hopeless design that has never really been properly tested in the real world. My advice is not to buy this product.

By James Smithson

13 June 2010

2 stars

everything black plastic breaks easily-fuel cap/throttle control enclosure/belt cover below. diaphragm in carb deteriorates soon after guarantee,leaving engine hunting. go into a bush, and you'll lose the governor spring, plastic height lever covers, and possibly snag cables.try to manouvre at all tightly seems like an unexpected demand, and it fights back. pull to reverse brushes its fur the wrong way. ignore vigorous maintenance and the drive belt chamber becomes so clogged up that the belt slips off, turning it into an awkward push along.However, you pays for what u gets, and as long as you dont expect too much, and treat it with kid gloves, i believe that intrinsically, it is a half decent machine, let down by poor quality construction and half baked design, that could out last its guarantee for small flat lawns, but would struggle/fall apart trying to cope with more than 1/2 acre.

By Pfk

26 May 2010

1 stars

Rubbish....NEVER starts. Takes double the time to cut the lawn just looking after the mower!!

By Jamse

8 October 2009

5 stars

Weight:Power ratio is very good especially if you are running a small gardening business like myself and need to lift the machine in/out of a car or van. This is a self-propelled mower with ball bearing in the wheels and large collection box. The price compares very favourably with other models and makes.

By Stephen Kamm

8 September 2009

2 stars

Poor design. Self drive does not always work especially on slight slopes, wheels lock when pulling back to resolve this you have to manually push last 2 meters. Frame is weak, good storage, cutting height system drops and not fastened probably so uneven cut. Slightly uncomfortably hand grips with the bars if doing for a long time. Much better options for less money.

By Simon Mort

16 May 2009

2 stars

Runs too fast. Difficult to turn because will not pull back easily. Poor frame design because, at lowest cut on all but flatest lawn, the machine digs in and is very difficult to move forward or backwards. Mountfield far superior and more manoeverable.

By Stephen Irish

26 March 2009

4 stars

Good engine, good design. God help you if you need to turn the mower around using a three point turn as when you pull the mower back the rear drive wheel has a tendancy to fall off.

By Joe Hart

Submit your own review by filling in the form below:

Name:

Rating:

Review:

Are you human? enter the characters :

  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Google
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • TwitThis

Skip to top